Aurora.

Image

(–via nbcnews)

I can’t help but dwell on the tragedy that occurred on the same night that I had claimed for myself as the “best. night. ever.” – not realizing the horror that was unfolding states away, in a Colorado theater packed with fellow lovers of Batman.

Going to see a movie – and one of the best films I’ve seen, I dare say – should be a safe and fun experience. Now the date that Batfans everywhere should have been able to associate with a simple sort of bittersweet joy at the ending of a grand trilogy is now marred by senseless violence and a surge of empathy for those who lost their lives because of one twisted man’s idea of a great scheme. What the hell was he thinking? What could he possibly gain from this act of pointless violence? How dare he rob twelve people of their lives, and wound fifty-nine others? How dare he steal people’s loved ones, break families apart, and cut off futures? Seventy-one people shot. And all they were doing was seeing a midnight showing. It’s unbelievable and horrifying.

I can’t begin to understand any of this, and I wasn’t even there. I can’t imagine how the people who made it out of that theater are feeling today. I’m praying for every single one of them, and my heart is still breaking over it all.

And on a lesser note, how dare this sick gunman take away one of the simplest pleasures of fandom – dressing up as the character you love? AMC Theatres have banned costumes now. I understand why, especially the fake weapons bit, and I don’t condemn them. But how is that fair to people with no malicious intent, who just want to be a proud nerd wearing the cape and cowl?

How dare this man try and ruin one of the greatest pastimes, something as beautiful and simple and enjoyable as going to a movie theater?

I can tell you that I will be going back. I’ll see The Dark Knight Rises again, despite the dark cloud hanging over the day of its release. I’ll still buy tickets to midnight showings of future films I’m excited about. I’ll still take my sister with me to the theater, and I won’t fear for my life or hers, because nobody should have to. I still love film, and no psychopath is going to take that away from me.

But did he take it away from those people in Aurora? Will they ever be able to sit in a dark theater again without that lingering fear in the back of their minds? It isn’t fair to them. It was completely evil, and senseless.

While I’m praying for healing for the victims, I’m praying for justice to be done.

And that this never happens again.

One comment on “Aurora.

Leave a Reply

